Comixpo Feb 2016

I was lucky enough to attend the very first Comixpo in the Collingwood Town Hall last Sunday the 28th of Feb.

Now, the last time I was in the Collingwood Town Hall was about 20 years ago, to see TISM and the Clowns of Decadence.  It was a great gig!  But this time around, things were a bit different.

Around 600+ people attended over the course of the day, at a rough guess (and a rough guess from the organiser).  So, for a small, first event, that’s a great effort!  The stalls were mainly toy-oriented, with only a couple of serious comic sellers, so for me, the balance was a bit askew.  But I’m sure that, as it grows, there’ll be more balance.

The vibe was low key and very friendly.  There were a number of familiar faces, who you will see, should you come to the next Bendigo Record Comic and Toy Fair next Sunday the 13th of March (plug plug), and some new faces for me to meet and greet (and swap cards and network).

I will say this, in all honesty, much as I like the idea of a DJ playing some sci-fi themes and the likes, it was a bit distracting from the dealing/haggling side.  I’m sure there’s a compromise to be reached there.

All in all, a good day out, a few comics snapped up, and a solid addition to teh growing calendar of geek events near you!

 

Leave a comment